Genre Bender {Whirled Peas Café Radio}

Mondays 7a-9a

WPC Radio: Musical Comfort Food with a World of Spice

{WPC Radio Playlist: February 14th}

Whirled Peas Café Radio or {WPC Radio} whichever way you prefer. Either suits me just fine. I’m easy that way. Where I come into difficulty is when they ask, “Lori, what do you play?” My most honest reply would be “good music.” That, however, would read as more flippancy than sincerity. So I say, I’m “Whirled” as in the multi-faceted play on words. Whirled Peas is a homonym of Word Peace. Most of my music is rooted in social justice, spiritual awakening, and/or compassionate or loving relations. But there is often humor and an element of the unexpected in my choices or simply in my placements. My shows are crafted, in that I have a few “playlists-in-progress” folders that follow me to the station every week. There is always an excess of material. I add to it by browsing the library at WDBX as I set up my morning show. Then as I do my show I pull from my palettes, choosing and refining as I go. When I have guests, I pull from their palette and together we grow the show out of our tool kits and our conversation. Those shows tend to be my favorite. It is a conversation on many levels that is enriched by caller feedback. (If you doubt how much I love feedback, check out the earlier post Feedback.) To me, that is the essence of community radio. This is not a one-way road. This is a collaborative project. It is a dance among the elements, and you and I are but two of those dancers. But this explanation exceeds the character count for the WDBX schedule which states, Whirled Peas Café w/Lori: World, Roots & Rock.

I invite you to do your own count. How many genres do I play in a given show. Don’t rely on just this playlist alone. I am a sucker for the blues and jazz. Quite a few of the artists I play come from far off and away. Many more mix and match musical instruments and styles as freely as I do. Today’s show starts with a neo-jazz songstress, moves into a  duet between two classical luminaries one Western and one South Asian shortly followed by anther East/West classical pairing rendering a traditional children’s song, classic country, rock, blues, do-wap, spoken word, experimental, gospel, R&B, French cowboy, flamenco, and hip-hop. It isn’t a contest to pack as many genres into a single playlist. It just happens that way. Something reminds me of something else. I feel that the jazz needs a bit of soul or the instrumentals need some strong vocals. It’s a matter of composition and feel.

Many folks confess to me their distaste for one genre or another. And I confess to them that I haven’t met a genre that I didn’t like. I love good music. I’m not very fond of shallow music no matter the genre. I’m not saying everything has to be intellectually complex. Some of the simplest songs like really great vanilla reveal a subtlety of layering depth. Joe Cocker’s performance of You Are So Beautiful springs to mind. For those of you who don’t think you like hip-hop, I invite you to check out the Taiyo Na video link.

Dreamer’s Ball Raya Yarbrough
My Funny Valentine Chet Baker
Ragas in Minor Scale Ravi Shankar & Phillip Glass
Sher Adrianne Greenbaum

Hush Little Baby YoYo Ma & Bobby McFerrin

Happy Happy Birthday Baby Wanda Jackson
How Many More Years Magic Slim & The Teardrops
Happy Birthday Blues BB King
Heart & Bones The Fabulous Ginn Sisters
These Roses Gin Wigmore
You Bonnie Raitt
Missionary Man E. C. Scott
Hallelujah Gin Wigmore
Hallelujah Jeff Buckley
Democracy Leonard Cohen
Crazy Little Thing Called Love Queen
Somewhere Over the Rainbow Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
Kowboy Kompa Angus Martin
On Revival Day (A Rhymthic Spiritual) Bessie Smith
Do the Astral Plane Flying Lotus

You Make Me Smile Aloe Blacc
Love Is Growth Taiyo Na

Juanito Ricardo Marlow
A Toast to Your Birthday The Shells

Bonus Track:

You Are So Beautiful Joe Cocker

One comment on “Genre Bender {Whirled Peas Café Radio}

  1. ltsailiata says:

    And of course, Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! And Happy Birthday to my younger daughter, Melia!

Leave a Reply

