A Whirl of World {Whirled Peas Café Radio}

Mondays 7a-9a

WPC Radio: Musical Comfort Food with a World of Spice

Today’s show was a bit of a departure from the norm. To compile each of my weekly shows, I have three separate “playlists in progress.” One folder is on my iTunes synced on my iTouch and iMac. I have a separate list on my desktop in Pages. The third is usually stuffed in my purse’s wallet. These three lists start to talk to each other more as the weekend approaches. Normally before I go to be Sunday night, I have a draft saved to The Blogapus consisting of youtube videos and a tentative playlist which I rearrange as the show is live. I have extra MP3 music as well as CDs…just in case.

Today’s show started out with my normal organization, but by the weekend I was getting suggestions as well as requests. This morning I even had a few stop-bys and call-ins. Normally these kind of influences will have the show leaning a bit more toward the musical comfort food: jazz, blues, folk, roots, blue grass, alt country, etc. Today’s show, however, had a heavier hand on the World of Spices.

The world felt a little off kilter today. We are still feeling the effects of the tragic shooting this weekend. We awoke to the odd storm that has Southern Illinois chilled but not frozen and my friends and family further south ill-equipped for their surplus of snow. My calendar is marked with events marking peace and nonviolence as we approach the birthday of MLK this weekend. Ironically, last week’s playlist included the Nick Lowe classic, What’s So Funny ‘Bout Peace, Love & Understanding. Can’t be too short of those this week.

Peas & Blessings for us all. Until next week…and the return of special guests and community profiles. Peas Out!

 

Duet for Violin and Sitar Ravi Shankar & Yehudi Menuhin
Oya Lizz Wright
Hello Bonjour Michael Franti & Spearhead
Anything You Want (Not That) Belleruche
Angels of Persepolis Mehran


Flute Duo No. 4 – Andante Con Variazioni Laurel Zucker & Sara Andon
Tuareg Nomads Kiah Keya-Ahheahedon Tuareg Womens Jama Footsteps in Africa
No Corras Tanto El Combolinga


Hong Kong Mambo Tito Puente
Nature Boy Lizz Wright
How Many Times Belleruche
East to the West Michael Franti
Sol Y Sombra The Cat Empire
Get Away Katchafire

Could You Be Loved Bob Marley & The Whalers
Pasargad Mehran
Te Es Mon Secours Aseline Volcy
Safaa The Ikhwani Safaa Musical Club
Noor Kiu Haghighi
Far Far Yael Naim
Tujhe Bhula Diya Mohit Chauhan, Shekhar Ravjiani, Shruti Pathak


Late Train Belleruche

Bonus Track:

The Making of Sand Animation Cesar Díaz Meléndez

Leave a Reply

