Scratchy Vinyl, 12/11/10

Greetings and salutations folks, Sarah here from Scratchy Vinyl, attempting to bridge my technology gap!  Today marked  my first show in my new time slot, Saturday morning 10-12 (moved from Wednesday afternoon).   I have a lot to live up to, but Grandma dropped a line to tell me I’m doing a great job!

I’ve been with WDBX for about a year now, manically swapping and cuing on the ol’ turntable.   My obsession for LP’s began years ago in a lowly thrift shop, where the cover art of Exuma won me over.  I quickly realized how much I love the quality of these plastic discs, no overly clean sound here!  Since that first album, I have consistently sought out the wonderful as well as the random, often being taken over by a beautiful or comical square foot of jacket.  So yes, visual aesthetics has allowed me to learn much about music the way it was.  It also helped me find music I love!  As my technophobia loses its grip, I’ll share some of the art with you (it may show just how much of a cheeseball I can be!)

If you are new to listening to my show, I spin heavy on the old time jazz and blues, with some country, crooners, crazy kids, and classic rock thrown in to spice it up a bit.   In general, it’s music made before I was born, many of the records are 2-3 times my age!  I hope you enjoy the show, dance in your kitchen, and come on back next week!

Now, The set list:

Kay Kayser, St James Infirmary Blues

Louis Armstrong, Medely  When You’re Smiling, St. James Infirmary, Dinah

Billie Holiday, I Wished on The Moon

Glen Gray, And Casa Loma Band, Sleepy Time Gal

Fred Rich & Orch, Singin’ in the Rain

Ink Spots, Wait till the Sun Shines Nellie

Dorothy Collins, Come Rain or Come Shine

Al Hirt, Fly Me To The Moon

Beatles, Birthday

Jack Johnson, Banana Pancakes

Godspell, By My Side

Danny Kaye , I’ve Got A Loveryly Bunch Of Coconuts

The Brasileros,  When Johnny Comes Marching Home

Tribute To Hank Williams, Hey Good Lookin’

Rex Allen, My Cross Eyed Gal

Django Reinhardt, Some of These Days

Will The Circle Be Unbroken, Losing You might Be the Best Thing Yet

Marv Herzog, Rain Rain Polka

Hello Dolly, Put on a Happy Face

Jimmy Dorsey and Orch, John Silver

Fred Astaire and Bing Crosby, A Couple of Song and Dance Men

Pete Fountain, You Are My Sunshine

Eddie Cantor, Dixie Made Us Mad

Ray Miller Orch. Nobody Knows What A Red Haired Mama can Do

Al Bernard, Hot Coffee

Ted Lewis Orch., Bo La Bo

Ella Fitzgerald with Nelson Riddle, I Won’t Dance

Charlie Barnet, Make Believe Ballroom

Frances Faye, I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate

Lavern Baker Sings Bessie Smith, Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out

Fats Waller, Hallelujah! I’m A Bum

Louis Armstrong, Hobo You Can’t Ride This Train

Pearl Bailey, The Color Of Rain

Nat King Cole, Just For The Fun Of It

Jean Kittrell, Bring It On Home



Leave a Reply

