Whirled Peas Café Radio Playlist: October 4th, 2010

Musical Comfort Food with a World of Spice

Sorry this stayed in draft form on the blog way too long. This week I explored the new-to-me sounds of Belleruche.  As serendipity has a habit of doing, I started noticing a buzz in other locations including this article done by NPR: Belleruche: Electronica Gets the Blues.  The group consists of three band members: Ricky Fabulous | Kathrin DeBoer | DJ Modest. They are based in the UK and have a unique way of blending electronica with jazz and grounding it with blues. Joss Stone was new to at least one of my listeners, so I included one of her videos in the mix here. If the playlist looks a bit long, it is because I was still doing the extended version on the show due to James’ vacation and the vacuum left by “Dude, Where’s My Coffee?” got filled with some of my favorite female vocalists. I encourage you to check out Belleruche for yourself. I have yet to hit a bad track.

You Don’t Know Me/Ray Charles

Sweet Dreams/Patsy Cline

Stand By Me/ Prince Royce

Lilac Wine/Nina Simone

Someone to Watch Over Me/ BB King & Etta James
Anything You Want(Not That)/Belleruche

You’re Listening to the Worlds/ Belleruche


C’est Si Bon/Eartha Kitt

Late Train/ Belleruche

Que La Noches Sean Son/ El Combolinga

Chicken to Change/FreshlyGround

Big Man/FreshlyGround & Les Nubians

Scratch My Soul/ Belleruche

How Many Times/ Belleruche

La Jara/ El Combolinga

Julia/ Chocolate Genius

Fell in Love With a Boy/ Joss Stone

Fire Is Low/ FreshlyGround

Minor Swing/ Belleruche

I Second that Emotion/ Smokey Robinson

Some Kind of Wonderful/ Joss Stone

Tell Mamma/ Etta James

Buttercup/ FreshlyGround

Northern Girls/ Belleruche

Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly/ Lizz Wright

Share Your Love With Me/ Aretha Franklin

My Funny Valentine/ Whirimako Black

Alice/ Belleruche

Things Have Changed/ FreshlyGround

Caged Bird/ Alicia Keys

Put Your Hands On Me/ Joss Stone

The Itch/ Belleruche

Hit the Ground/ Lizz Wright

It’ll Come/ Belleruche

Leave a Reply

